To God be the Glory

By G C Forsman

Delight yourself in the Lord,

and he will give you the desires of your heart.

(Psalm 37:4, ESV)

I have said before that we should be sharing what Jesus did for us with others, and tonight I want to do just that.

This week has been amazing and miraculous. But before I get to that, allow me to give you the back story.

I used to joke that it would be nice to work on the weekend, and have the week off.  Then God gave me just such a job.  I worked 54 hours straight starting at 3:00 pm on Friday, and ending 9:00 pm Sunday.  While working in this position, I was afforded the opportunity to teach a Bible Study every Sunday.  During one Bible Study, I was asked a question and I answered with the word of God (Leviticus 18:22). For standing on the word of God, I was rewarded by being fired from my job.

It is my understanding that when you get fired you cannot collect unemployment, and thought surely the company would protest paying me.  Somehow God removed all obstacles and unemployment payments began after the normal one week delay.  Almost immediately I found a part-time job that allowed me to continue to cover my financial responsibilities.  As I began my job search, I interviewed for a great position only 5 miles from my home. I was notified that I have been selected for this position.

So… God gave me a good job that I used to joke about having.  I stood on his word and was persecuted for doing so.  God responded by providing all of my needs, and then delivered even a better job closer to home.  He is truly amazing!!  I give God all the glory.  I know He protected my family and I, and that He rewarded me for standing on His word.

I know there are those who would disagree with God’s word, but that doesn’t make it any less true.

It is important to know God’s word… It is more important to know God. It is a relationship, not a religion.

